Division Title

In Focus! 2013 Winners

In-Focus! Safe Workplaces for All 2013 Photo Contest Winners Announced

The Office of Research Services (ORS), Division of Occupational Health and Safety (DOHS) recently announced the winners of the 2013 "In Focus! Safe Workplaces for All" photo contest. For the third year, this contest inspired workers to focus on safety and served as an entertaining way to document workplace safety.  It challenged anyone with a passion for photography to capture an image of workplace safety and health and share it with the NIH community. The goals of the contest were to: further efforts to reduce workplace injuries and illnesses; educate and underscore the importance of safety; foster innovation to create shared solutions; and, achieve community involvement by relying on talent, imagination and creativity to raise awareness of workplace safety and health. 

Final selection of winning photographs was made by a panel of NIH professionals which included graphic design specialists from the Division of Medical Arts and the Managing Editor of the NIH Catalyst.

This year, judges awarded first place to Dale Lewis, PhD, Staff Scientist at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) for his photo which featured a laboratory workplace and two employees wearing protective equipment and following safety procedures (Figure 1). Second place also went to an entry submitted by Dr. Lewis for his photograph of a crew of workers washing windows at the new addition to the Porter Neuroscience Research Center Building (Figure 2).  Third place was awarded to two NCI employees, Diane Poole and Amanda Lyon for their innovative, comic-strip style portrayal of “Safety Girl” (Figure 3).

On Wednesday, January 8, 2014, the winners were formally recognized for their outstanding contributions to promoting workplace safety throughout the NIH community at the Quarterly IC Safety Chair Committee Meeting.  The Deputy Director of the DOHS, Herbert Jacobi was the emcee of the ceremony and awards were presented by the Director of the Office of Research Services, Alfred C. Johnson, PhD. (Figures 4 and 5).

Congratulations to these fine photographers for their role in promoting a safe workplace for all at NIH.


Figure 1. First Place: Photograph by Dr. Dale Lewis, PhD. 



Figure 2. Second Place. Photograph by Dale Lewis, PhD.
The Adventures of Safety Girl
Figure 3. Third Place. Photograph by Diane Poole and Amanda Lyon.

Figure 4 Award

Figure 4. Director of the Office of Research Services, Alfred C. Johnson, PhD (left) and first and second place recipient, Dale Lewis, PhD (right).

Figure 5 - Third place
Figure 5. Third place winners Amanda Lyon (left) and Diane Poole (right) received awards from Office of Research Services Director, Alfred C. Johnson, PhD (center).

Return to Main Contest Page