Division Title

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee

The NIH Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) provides recommendations to the Director of the NIH or his designee, in matters pertaining to the control of hazards associated with the intramural use of microbiological agents, their vectors, and recombinant DNA. The committee serves as an advisory body to the Division of Occupational Health and Safety (DOHS), Office of Research Services (ORS).

Recombinant DNA and Pathogen Registration submissions are submitted electronically through the PI Dashboard system. Please check the  NIH: IBC Meeting and Deadline Dates . IBC Meeting and Deadline Dates For Submission for the IBC meeting schedule and deadlines.

Read more from the external linksCharter for the NIH Institutional Biosafety Committee. 

Membership Roster



Committee Role

Harry L. Malech

Chairperson, Clinican
Richard G. BaumannBiological Safety Officer, Voting Contact

​Robert Craigie

Committee Member, Clinician

​Deborah A. Michaels

Local Non-Affiliated
Jocelyn Dunford-Weissman

​Senior Research Associate

Christine Maisano

​Scientific Technical Writer

Althea Treacy

Associate Biological Safety Officer
Jeremy L. DavisCommittee Member, Clinician
Yasmine Belkaid Committee Member

​Stephen L. Denny

​Animal Expert, Animal Program Director

Authur Koines

Local Non-Affiliated

Stephanie M. Goff

Committee Member
​Steve S. WhiteheadCommittee Member, Virologist